An Alice Dress

Yesterday I was at the V&A Museum of Childhood: The Alice Look and wrote a review of the experience.

Today I thought I would have ago at creating my own Alice inspired outfit, which I hope I find somewhere to wear it.

image                    image

The idea was to create a blue, sweetheart neckline, strapless dress with a gathered sweeping petticoat like skirt layered over the top.

While the outfit doesn’t represent the classic Alice look, it does carry some of the well known features we associate with the story.

If I had taken more time to design and make this, I might have gone for something out of the ordinary, like a flamingo halterneck, to represent the game of crochet played in the Queen’s garden or included some yellow to replicate the original colourings of her dress.

 

Leave a Reply

